Three Bolton Forwards Score In One Afternoon

  • February 02, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Craig Davies, Marvin Sordell and Tom Eaves were all on the scoresheet on Saturday afternoon, while misfiring Bolton hit a blank at Ipswich Town.

As Wanderers were slipping to a 1-0 defeat at Portman Road, with Lukas Jutkiewicz the only forward in the matchday squad, Davies, Sordell and Eaves all found the target for their respective loan clubs.

Sordell was the first to find the net, giving Charlton Athletic an early lead against Wigan Athletic at the DW Stadium. The former England under-21 international played 73 minutes on his return to the North West, meaning he wasn't on the field as late goals from Marc-Antoine Fortune and Jordi Gomez gave the Latics all three points.

That was Sordell's third goal of the campaign for the Addicks, in what was his 21st appearance.

Later in the afternoon, Davies, who linked up with Preston North End on transfer deadline day, scored on his debut at Deepdale as the Lilywhites beat Notts County 2-0.

The former Wolverhampton Wanderers and Barnsley forward struck in the 65th minute and also played a major role in the second, from which Joe Garner converted from the penalty spot. Davies played 78 minutes, before being replaced by Iain Hulme.

Also in League One, Eaves scored for the first time in 10 games as his stoppage time goal rescued a 1-1 draw for Shrewsbury Town in their clash with Brentford at Greenhous Meadow. The one-time Oldham Athletic forward played the full 90 minutes, but the draw couldn't prevent Michael Jackson's side from dropping into the relegation zone.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
14 Charlton Athletic 21 26
15 Cambridge United 21 26
16 Bolton Wanderers 21 26
17 AFC Wimbledon 19 24
18 Lincoln City 20 21
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney