Post-Match: Freedman on Bolton's Defeat at Ipswich Town

  • February 01, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Dougie Freedman refused to criticise Andy Lonergan, after another mistake from the goalkeeper cost Bolton a result at Ipswich Town.

David McGoldrick scored in a 1-0 victory for the Tractor Boys, converting from the penalty spot after he had been brought down by the Trotters stopper.

In a week where Freedman admitted Lonergan remains first-choice 'keeper at the Reebok Stadium, the Wanderers boss said the entire team must take responsibility for their defeat at Portman Road - not one individual player.

"Once again we're on the end of a very disappointing result," Freedman told the club's official website.

"Not for the first time we felt we were by far the better side in the opening 45 minutes. We competed very well and created four or five opportunities and it was a shame we didn't take any of those.

"At the start of the second half, a rush of blood and a rash decision was the difference between the two teams. Aside from that, there wasn't a lot in it.

"We have no complaints about the penalty decision. That small moment won the game for Ipswich.

"Unfortunately, that's the way things have been going for us recently.

"A disappointing thing from our point of view was the fact that we didn't really create that much in the final 20 minutes when we were chasing the game.

"It's obviously a concern that we're not winning games of football at this moment in time, but we've got a group of good players here.

"We can't let our heads go down. We have to make sure we keep the performance and commitment levels up.

"We have a number of big games at home coming up this month and we have to be right at it from the off."

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 AFC Wimbledon 19 17
20 Tranmere Rovers 18 17
21 Milton Keynes Dons 19 14
22 Southend United 20 6
23 Bolton Wanderers 16 2
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone