Bolton To Kick-Off New Season at Burnley

  • June 18, 2013 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton will open the 2013/14 Championship campaign with an away game at Burnley, just as they did last season.

To mark the 125th anniversary of the inaugural Football League season, six specially selected matches - two in each division - will take place on the opening day featuring a number of the league's founder members.

Wanderers will travel to Turf Moor on the opening weekend, with Turf Moor being one of only three grounds still in use from the original 1888/89 campaign. The stadium was the scene of a 2-0 defeat for Bolton on the opening day of last season, in a game hyped up by the return of former Clarets boss and then Trotters manager Owen Coyle.

The other Championship fixture will see Blackburn Rovers travel to Derby County while, in League One, the first ever Football League champions - Preston North End - will play host to Wolverhampton Wanderers and Notts County will travel to Sheffield United.

Newport County will welcome Accrington Stanley in League Two, while Hartlepool United will go to Rochdale's Spotland in what is the most played Football League match by the current 72 members.

Speaking about the specially selected fixtures, Football League chairman Greg Clarke said: "For 125 years, Football League clubs have delivered a compelling spectacle, week after week.

"In the process, attracting a total audience of more than 2.2 billion people and building indelible relationships with their local communities.

"Our clubs and their supporters are the heartbeat of the domestic game, giving English league football a breadth and popularity that is unrivalled anywhere in the world.

"We look forward to celebrating 125 years of incredible matches, unforgettable moments and intense footballing rivalry."

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston