Middlesbrough 2-1 Bolton Wanderers

  • October 27, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/781c3

Jimmy Phillips' spell as interim manager ended in defeat as Middlesbrough came from behind to beat Bolton 2-1 at the Riverside Stadium.

Lee Chung-Yong had given Wanderers the lead three minutes before the break, but a second half double from substitute Scott McDonald turned the game around and secured a fourth consecutive victory for Tony Mowbray's side.

Defeat leaves Bolton in 18th position in the Championship, three points above the relegation zone, with new boss Dougie Freedman set to take charge on Monday morning.

Phillips made two changes to the side that drew 2-2 at Wolverhampton Wanderers on Tuesday night, with Sam Ricketts and Chung-Yong taking the places of Matt Mills and Benik Afobe, who were both named on the substitute's bench.

Both sides had early chances to take the lead, with Boro's Ishmael Miller dragging a shot wide on the opening minute, before a 35-yard strike from Chris Eagles flew inches wide of Jason Steele's post just moments later.

Grant Leadbitter was next to try his luck for the hosts, but Adam Bogdan was alert enough in the Wanderers goal to turn the ball behind for a corner.

Middlesbrough kept up their early pressure and should have gone ahead on 10 minutes, but, after beating Sam Ricketts in the air, Miller could only succeed in heading the ball wide of the target.

Marvin Emnes gave Bolton a warning when he shot wide on 11 minutes and he was in the thick of the action again moments later, with Bogdan doing well to turn away the Dutchman's strike.

Emnes would be forced off the field midway through the half, with McDonald coming on to replace him.

After a lack of action in either half, Adam Reach sent a speculative effort over Bogdan's crossbar on 26 minutes, before Kevin Davies was harshly booked for a foul on Seb Hines on the half hour.

Miller had already caused panic in the Bolton defence on a couple of occasions, and he came close to breaking the deadlock on 33 minutes, but his curling strike flew just over the top of the bar, with Bogdan well beaten.

Four minutes later, Eagles went down inside the box, but his appeals for a penalty failed to impress referee Gary Sutton, who promptly booked the Wanderers midfielder for simulation, leading to a chorus of boos from the Boro faithful.

After tame strikes from George Friend and Faris Haroun failed to trouble Bogdan, Wanderers went straight up the other end and came close to opening the scoring through Mark Davies, who fizzed a shot inches wide of Steele's near post.

From their next attack, however, the visitors were ahead. A loose ball inside the Boro penalty area fell kindly into the path of Chung-Yong, who managed to chip the ball over the onrushing Steele to put Bolton into the lead.

The South Korea international could and really should have doubled the lead on the stroke of half time. Capitalising on a mistake from Andre Bikey, Chung-Yong found himself one-on-one with the Boro goalkeeper, but, this time, sent his shot over the top of the goal, with Wanderers having to settle for a 1-0 lead at the break.

Both sides came out unchanged at the start of the second half and it took a while for the first meaningful attack to arrive, with a dangerous cross from Martin Petrov being hooked away from the Boro six-yard box on 56 minutes, with Eagles looking set to poke the ball home.

Just before the hour, Wanderers saw appeals for a penalty turned down yet again. This time, Chung-Yong went to ground inside the box, but referee Sutton waved play on, much to the disgust of interim manager Phillips in the Bolton dugout.

With 65 minutes on the clock, Eagles raced clear on goal, but, under pressure from Hines, the former Burnley midfielder sliced his shot wide of the target.

Wanderers would soon be punished for that miss, with Boro pulling themselves level two minutes later. Miller once again caused panic in the Bolton defence and after Bogdan had parried his shot, McDonald was on hand to hit the rebound into the net.

Five minutes later, the Boro goalscorer almost got a second, but he headed wide after Miller had set him up with the opportunity.

Moments later, the ball appeared to hit Ricketts on the hand inside the Trotters penalty area. Everybody inside the stadium was waiting for the referee to point to the spot, but he ordered play to continue, allowing Ricketts to get out of jail.

Eagles shot straight at Steele with ten minutes remaining, while Haroun smashed a shot from an Emmanuel Ledesma cross inches wide of the post.

Then, with only five minutes remaining, Boro got the goal that would give them a richly deserved three points.

Ledesma managed to get away from Stephen Warnock down the right flank and, after cutting into the box, he picked out an unmarked McDonald, who made no mistake in heading home the winning goal.

Wanderers reacted by bringing David Ngog on for Tyrone Mears, but, aside from a late Eagles free-kick, they never troubled in the closing stages and Middlesbrough held on to claim their fourth victory in a row.

The defeat leaves Bolton in 18th place in the Championship table, with new boss Freedman set to take over on Monday, ahead of next Saturday's televised game against league leaders Cardiff City at the Reebok Stadium.

Middlesbrough: Steele, Parnaby, Hines, Bikey, Friend, Haroun, Leadbitter, McEachran (Halliday 87), Reach (Ledesma 46), Miller, Emnes (McDonald 22)
Subs Not Used: Leutwiler, Smallwood, Bailey, Hoyte
Goals: McDonald 67,85

Bolton Wanderers: Bogdan, Mears (Ngog 87), Ricketts, Ream, Warnock, Eagles, M Davies (Pratley 77), Chung-Yong, Spearing, Petrov (Afobe 65), K Davies
Subs Not Used: Lynch, Mills, Andrews, Riley
Booked: K Davies, Eagles
Goals: Chung-Yong 42

Referee: Gary Sutton
Attendance: 16,200

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
13 Accrington Stanley 27 36
14 Charlton Athletic 27 33
15 Bolton Wanderers 26 32
16 Lincoln City 26 31
17 Cheltenham Town 27 31
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney