Phillips: Bolton 'In No Rush'

  • October 18, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Jimmy Phillips has told reporters that Bolton are 'in no rush' to appoint a new manager, following the decision to sack Owen Coyle last week.

Phillips will take charge of Wanderers when they host Bristol City on Saturday afternoon, backed by support from former manager Sammy Lee and ex-player Julian Darby, who have all been promoted from their roles in the club's academy, at least on a temporary basis.

Speaking to the press on Thursday, Phillips admitted Bolton chairman Phil Gartside has placed his trust in the trio and that the club are willing to bide their time before making a decision on a new manager.

"Phil Gartside asked myself and Sammy Lee to take charge of first-team affairs and he's in no rush to appoint a new manager," Phillips told BBC Radio Manchester.

"The next manager is going to be a very important decision and it needs to be one that takes the club forward.

"He recognised the good work that's gone on in the academy and I think he's looking for the club to have a first-team squad that is integrated with players from within, which I'm sure all Bolton fans would like to see.

"He's not in a rush to appoint anyone and, with myself, Sammy and Julian taking over, he knows he's got people with the club at heart.

"The three of us all played for the club. Myself and Julian are from Bolton and support the club, and we were both ball boys here."

When asked if he would accept the job on a permanent basis, Phillips refused to budge, insisting results will do the talking.

"That's not a question I can answer at this moment in time," he said.

"It's a results-driven business and it's not a question that can be answered now because we've got to see how we do in the games."

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
11 Ipswich Town 20 27
12 Cheltenham Town 19 27
13 Bolton Wanderers 20 26
14 Accrington Stanley 19 24
15 Charlton Athletic 20 23
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney