Bolton Sack Owen Coyle

  • October 09, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton Wanderers have confirmed that Owen Coyle has been sacked as manager with immediate effect.

After relegation from the Premier League last season, Coyle has paid the price for the club's poor start to the campaign, which has seen them pick up just 11 points from their opening 10 Championship fixtures.

Wanderers chairman Phil Gartside has placed on record his thanks to Coyle and his coaching staff, with Coyle wishing everyone at the club all the best for the future.

In a statement on the club's official website, Gartside said: "Owen poured his heart and soul into the job, both on and off the pitch, and he led our club with great dignity during some very challenging times.

"It is the right time for a change. We set a target at the beginning of the season and want to get back on track.

"I would like to place on record our sincere thanks to Owen, Sandy Stewart and Steve Davis for all their hard work during their time at Bolton Wanderers."

Coyle said: "I have always been driven to act in the best interests of the club and care passionately about it.

"I had fantastic times here as a player and it has been a privilege to have held the post of manager.

"I want to thank the fans for their backing since I returned, the chairman Phil Gartside and the owner Eddie Davies for their support and friendship and the club's staff and players for all their effort and commitment.

"I wish everyone connected with Bolton Wanderers all the very best."

Meanwhile, Bolton Wanderers have confirmed Jimmy Phillips and Sammy Lee will take temporary charge of first team affairs until a new manager has been confirmed.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
8 Burton Albion 13 19
9 Oxford United 12 18
10 Bolton Wanderers 13 18
11 Accrington Stanley 12 16
12 Portsmouth 12 15
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney