Jussi Rejects Bolton's Final Offer

  • May 30, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/33e67

Jussi Jaaskelainen looks set to leave Bolton this summer after rejecting the club's final offer of a two-year contract.

Jaaskelainen joined Wanderers from VPS Vaasa in 1997 and has made 527 appearances for the club, putting him fifth in the Trotters' all time list.

Having lost his place to Adam Bogdan, the 37-year-old has not played a game since New Year's Eve and that, along with the club's relegation to the Championship, are likely to be the key reasons as to why he has turned down a new deal at the Reebok Stadium.

Speaking earlier in the week, Bolton boss Owen Coyle confirmed his desire for Jaaskelainen to stay at the club, but admitted the final decision would lie in the hands of the former Finland international.

Speaking to The Bolton News, Coyle said: "I want to make it clear that I want him to stay.

"We know we have Adam (Bogdan), and that would give us two top keepers, but we want that strength in depth.

"I had a very good chat with him last week and he knows my feelings on the matter.

"We know how good a goalkeeper Jussi is, the fantastic service he's put in for Bolton Wanderers over a number of years, and we have put an offer to him that we think is a good one.

"Adam finished last season as one of the top few keepers in the Premier League for me.

"Jussi was disappointed when he lost his spot, and he was unlucky that it happened because of an injury but he knows how far Adam has come along.

"It's up to him now whether he wants to stay and challenge him, or move on."

With Jaaskelainen set to leave the Reebok when his contract expires at the end of June, news of his availability is set to alert West Bromwich Albion and Premier League new boys, West Ham United.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Exeter City 2 1
20 Tranmere Rovers 2 1
21 Bolton Wanderers 2 0
22 Oldham Athletic 2 0
23 Grimsby Town 2 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone