Gartside: Petrov Under Contract

  • May 22, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton chairman Phil Gartside has confirmed Martin Petrov is still under contract at the Reebok Stadium for another 12 months.

It came as a surprise to many when Petrov's name was nowhere to be seen on the club's official retained list last Friday, with his contract due to expire in the summer.

Speculation quickly began to spread, with reports suggesting the Bulgaria international had activated a clause in his contract that entitled him to another season at the Reebok Stadium.

Speaking about the latest contract dealings at the club, Gartside confirmed Petrov would be staying at the Reebok, while talks are ongoing with Jussi Jaaskelainen and Zat Knight.

"It was important that we kept what was going to be a Premiership squad together," Gartside told Sky Sports.

"The only disappointment is Nigel Reo-Coker decided to invoke his get-out clause. You move on and we'll replace him with somebody else that's going to be as good, if not better.

"Martin Petrov's contract is already in place and his contract runs out at the end of next season. He's indicated that he's more than happy to stay.

"Zat Knight and Jussi were out of contract this year and we've made them offers. Watch this space, we're still waiting for replies from them.

"I'd rather be talking about a Premier League season, of course I would. But we did actually prepare for it (relegation).

"I think every club should do that in the bottom half of the table these days. It's inevitable that one year you might just have a bad run like we did on injuries or whatever reason and you've got to plan for it."

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
14 Charlton Athletic 21 26
15 Cambridge United 21 26
16 Bolton Wanderers 21 26
17 AFC Wimbledon 19 24
18 Lincoln City 20 21
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney