Bolton Announce Retained List

  • May 18, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton have announced their retained list, with 15 players leaving the club following their relegation from the Premier League.

Kevin Davies and Sam Ricketts have committed their futures to the club by signing new deals, while negotiations are taking place over new contracts for Jussi Jaaskelainen and Zat Knight.

Davies has signed a new 12-month contract at the Reebok Stadium, while Ricketts' new deal will see him stay at the club until the summer of 2014.

Gretar Steinsson, Paul Robinson, Sean Davis, Robbie Blake, Ricardo Gardner, Ivan Klasnic, Mark Connolly, Temitope Obadeyi, Rhys Bennett, Dino Fazlic and Tom Eckersley have all left the club, as has Nigel Reo-Coker, who has exercised a release clause in his contract.

Speaking about Reo-Coker's release, Wanderers boss Owen Coyle has praised the player for his professionalism and honesty.

"I was clear with Nigel," Coyle told the club's official website. "I asked him straight away whether he wanted to stay and be a part of what we are going to do next season.

"He was honest and up front with us, because that is the type of man he is, and said that he wanted to exercise the clause in his contract, and so we wish him well.

"I would also like to thank the players that are leaving the club for their work at Bolton Wanderers. We wish them all well.

"One of those is Ricardo Gardner, who has been with the football club for 14 years. He has offered incredible service to Bolton Wanderers and I'd like to personally thank him for all of his efforts, particularly during the time I have worked with him."

In addition to those being released, Tuncay Sanli, Dedryck Boyata and Ryo Miyaichi have all returned to their parent clubs following the completion of their loan deals.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
14 Charlton Athletic 21 26
15 Cambridge United 21 26
16 Bolton Wanderers 21 26
17 AFC Wimbledon 19 24
18 Lincoln City 20 21
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney