Connolly Released By Bolton

  • May 15, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton have started preparing for life in the Championship by releasing two of their reserve team regulars.

Mark Connolly and Tom Eckersley have both been told to find new clubs, with their contracts set to expire at the end of June.

Connolly moved to Bolton from Wolverhampton Wanderers in the summer of 2009 for an initial fee of £150,000, which could have risen to upwards of £1million had he represented the club at senior level.

A Republic of Ireland international, Connolly was a regular with the Wanderers reserves and enjoyed loan spells at St Johnstone and Macclesfield Town in recent times.

The news of Connolly's release have yet to be confirmed by the club, but posting on his official Twitter page, the 20-year-old admitted his time at the Reebok had come to an end.

"I'd like to thank everyone at Bolton Wanderers Football Club for the past three years," Connolly posted.

"Great bunch of players there that I'll miss. Wanna wish them all the best for next season and I'm sure I'll be seeing you next year.

"Also, a massive thank you to the fans for their support over the last few years. It has meant a lot."

Another academy graduate to leave the Reebok is Tom Eckersley. The 20-year-old has been at Bolton since 2000, but failed to make the step to senior level.

Just like Connolly, Eckersley also took to Twitter to say his farewell to the club.

"Had a great 12 years at BWFC, but it's time to move on with my career in football," Eckersley said.

"Thanks to everyone there and all the best to all the lads I've been with."

A full retained and released list of Bolton Wanderers players is expected to be confirmed by the end of the week.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
14 Charlton Athletic 21 26
15 Cambridge United 21 26
16 Bolton Wanderers 21 26
17 AFC Wimbledon 19 24
18 Lincoln City 20 21
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney