Bogdan Relieved With Ref Blunder

  • March 12, 2012 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/8030a

Adam Bogdan has expressed his relief at 'the goal that never was' in Bolton's 2-1 victory over Queens Park Rangers.

Bogdan was at the centre of controversy on Saturday as he clawed the ball back from behind his line with the game goalless.

There was no doubt that the ball had crossed the line and Rangers should have taken an early lead, but the referee's assistant failed to award the goal and play continued.

The Wanderers goalkeeper admitted he knew the ball had crossed the line, but believes luck was on his side.

"It was behind the line, definitely," Bogdan said. "I was hoping there wouldn't be any whistle and, as the seconds past, I was thinking 'oh yeah!'

"If you work hard, you're going to get your luck and I thought we worked hard. I've just seen the replay and their goal was offside.

"This was a massive win for us. We just have to make sure we build on this. We've got the top teams out of the way and now we must pick up points against the other strugglers and teams outside the top ten."

Football betting site Betway

Poll

Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Cheltenham Town 40 72
2 Cambridge United 41 71
3 Bolton Wanderers 40 67
4 Tranmere Rovers 40 65
5 Morecambe 40 63
View Full Standings >>