Bolton Wanderers 0-2 Sunderland

  • October 22, 2011 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton slumped to their seventh consecutive home league defeat as Sunderland ran out 2-0 winners at the Reebok Stadium.

Two strikes in the final eight minutes from Stephane Sessegnon and Nicklas Bendtner gave Steve Bruce's side a thoroughly deserved three points at the Reebok for the third season running.

The result was Bolton's seventh successive league defeat at the Reebok Stadium and piles the pressure on boss Owen Coyle, with the Trotters deep in relegation trouble at this early stage in the season.

Despite their latest defeat, Bolton started well and Sunderland were lucky to survive when Wes Brown sliced a cross from Chris Eagles across his own goalmouth. Unfortunately for the hosts, the ball flew wide of Simon Mignolet's goal.

The Trotters kept up their early pressure and could have taken the lead on 13 minutes, only for Darren Pratley to prod the ball wide of the target from the edge of the box after being set up by David Ngog.

Eagles twice angered his fellow team-mates by shooting wide from distance when he had better options available and Sunderland came close at the other end on 38 minutes, with Sessegnon volleying narrowly wide from a Sebastian Larsson cross.

Moments before the break, a Larsson free-kick was met by the head of John O'Shea. A section of the travelling support thought the ball had nestled in Jussi Jaaskelainen's goal but, unfortunately for them, it had flown wide and out for a goal-kick as the two sides went in goalless at the break.

Bolton created the first chance of the second half as Eagles' cross found a way through to Petrov, but his right-footed shot was weak and straight at Mignolet, who made a comfortable stop.

The Trotters then survived a major scare as Sessegnon's low cross from the right picked out Kieran Richardson. After seeing a goalbound strike was blocked by Dedryck Boyata, he reacted quickly and sent the ball goalwards again, only to be denied this time by David Wheater.

Sunderland stepped up a gear in the final 20 minutes and would have gone ahead had it not been for a low stop by Jaaskelainen, who kept out Sessegnon.

Connor Wickham sent a volley wide of the target and David Vaughan saw a shot deflected over the bar by Nigel Reo-Coker, before Wickham saw a cross-cum-shot come back off the crossbar with Jaaskelainen beaten.

After struggling to keep their opponents out, Bolton finally fell behind on 82 minutes as they failed to deal with a Larsson corner and Sessegnon reacted quickly to turn and shoot low past Jaaskelainen from six-yards.

Bolton responded immediately and Mignolet had to be alert to prevent Darren Pratley from running through to equalise, before the visitors wrapped up the points in stoppage time.

The hosts had committed too many men forward in search of an equaliser and after receiving the ball in acres of space from Sessegnon, Bendtner composed himself and stroked the ball past Jaaskelainen to complete the win.

Coyle's side were booed off at the final whistle after their fifth home defeat of the campaign, more than they managed in the whole of last season.

Wanderers return to action on Tuesday night when they face Arsenal in the Carling Cup at the Emirates Stadium.

Bolton Wanderers: Jaaskelainen, Boyata (Gardner 53), Cahill, Wheater, Robinson, Eagles, Reo-Coker, Pratley, Petrov (Kakuta 65), K Davies (Klasnic 65), Ngog
Subs Not Used: Bogdan, Tuncay, Knight, M Davies

Sunderland: Mignolet, O'Shea, Turner, Brown, Richardson (Bardsley 87), Wickham, Vaughan, Colback, Larsson, Sessegnon, Bendtner
Subs Not Used: Westwood, Cattermole, Gardner, Dong-Won, Meyler, Elmohamady
Booked: Turner, Sessegnon, Colback
Goals: Sessegnon 82, Bendtner 90

Referee: Mike Jones
Attendance: 24,349

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston