QPR v Bolton Wanderers - Preview

  • August 12, 2011 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/1995c

The Premier League returns on Saturday and Bolton kick-off their campaign against newly promoted Queens Park Rangers at Loftus Road.

Neil Warnock's side achieved promotion as Championship champions last season, while Owen Coyle's Trotters finished 14th in the Premier League, despite spending the majority of the campaign in the top half.

Wanderers will look to give debuts to summer signings Darren Pratley, Nigel Reo-Coker and Chris Eagles, but Tyrone Mears will be unavailable until the New Year after breaking his leg in training last week.

Fellow signing Tuncay Sanli is still awaiting a work permit and is also unavailable to made his debut in London.

Following the departures of Johan Elmander and Daniel Sturridge, Ivan Klasnic is expected to step up and lead the attack with Kevin Davies this season.

The additions of Pratley and Reo-Coker to the midfield will provide competition for Fabrice Muamba and Mark Davies, especially while Stuart Holden remains on the sidelines with a knee injury he picked up against Manchester United in March.

With Lee Chung-Yong missing for the entire season with a broken leg, Chris Eagles should start on the right flank, with Martin Petrov pushing forward on the left after the sale of Matt Taylor to West Ham United.

The defence will have a familiar look, with Paul Robinson, Gary Cahill, Zat Knight and Gretar Steinsson all expected to provide cover for Jussi Jaaskelainen in goal.

Joining Chung-Yong, Holden and Mears in the treatment room will be Sean Davis and Sam Ricketts, who are both recovering from long-term injuries.

QPR, who will be playing Premier League football for the first time in 15 years, could give debuts to Jay Bothroyd, Danny Gabbidon, Kieron Dyer and DJ Campbell.

Adel Taraabt has been linked with a move away from the club all summer, but could start for the hosts as they look to make a good start to life in the top flight.

The last time the two sides met was in February 2001, when a late Per Frandsen goal gave ten-man Wanderers a 1-1 draw at Loftus Road.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Bogdan, Jaaskelainen, Lainton, Steinsson, Alonso, Robinson, Cahill, Knight, Wheater, Connolly, Riley, Muamba, Eagles, Petrov, Gardner, M Davies, Reo-Coker, Pratley, Vela, Blakeman, K Davies, Klasnic, Blake, Obadeyi, O'Halloran

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Plymouth Argyle 46 80
8 Oxford United 46 76
9 Bolton Wanderers 46 73
10 Portsmouth 46 73
11 Ipswich Town 46 70
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston