Coyle Questions Burnley Goal

  • September 22, 2010 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Owen Coyle was left to curse a refereeing decision after his Bolton side crashed out of the Carling Cup at his old club, Burnley.

Wade Elliott's strike on the stroke of half-time was the difference between the two sides at Turf Moor, with the Wanderers boss claiming a handball against Clarets striker Chris Iwelumo in the build up.

Despite that decision, Coyle believes his side put in a good performance but he was, ultimately, disappointed with the final result on a controversial night at his old stomping ground.

"We are disappointed to be out of the competition because of the level of our performance and the goal that was awarded against us," Coyle told the club's official website.

"I thought we started slowly in the first ten minutes but after that we played well, especially remembering that we made eight changes.

"We had to get players a game and the way everyone went about it was pleasing. Young Rodrigo was terrific, as were a number of other players.

"It was an end-to-end cup tie with both teams going all out for it. We had numerous opportunities to score but never took them and we paid a price for doing that.

"Tamir Cohen nearly finished a free-flowing move after playing a nutmeg through the centre-half's leg and Lee Grant has made some terrific saves, which typified our evening.

"The goal shouldn't have been allowed because Chris Iwelumo punched the ball which led to Elliott knocking the ball over the line.

"There is no dispute that the ball was over the line but it struck a hand and we should have had a free-kick.

"But I don't want to take anything away from Burnley because they took their chance when it came.

"Now our focus is on Manchester United at the weekend."

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Plymouth Argyle 46 80
8 Oxford United 46 76
9 Bolton Wanderers 46 73
10 Portsmouth 46 73
11 Ipswich Town 46 70
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston