Bolton Wanderers v Wolves - Preview

  • February 27, 2010 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Wanderers' Bolton and Wolverhampton meet at the Reebok Stadium on Saturday afternoon, with both sides in desperate need of victory.

Just one point, and two places, lie between the sides ahead of the game and Bolton will be looking to avenge the defeat they suffered at Molineux back in December.

Johan Elmander was the scorer in a 2-1 loss for Gary Megson's side that day and he looks set to start on the bench following the return of Ivan Klasnic.

The Croatia international is expected to lead the attack alongside the returning Kevin Davies, who sat out the FA Cup defeat at Tottenham Hotspur in midweek.

Midfielder Stuart Holden impressed at White Hart Lane and could be in line to make his first Premier League start, although Jack Wilshere and Tamir Cohen will also be hopeful of starts.

Gretar Steinsson is a doubt, meaning Sam Ricketts could continue at right-back, with Andy O'Brien and Zat Knight playing at the heart of the defence.

Mark Davies will miss the game against his former club, joining Gavin McCann, Chris Basham, Joey O'Brien, Sean Davis and Gary Cahill on the sidelines.

Wolves boss Mick McCarthy has confirmed that he will start with the same side that lost to Chelsea last weekend.

Kevin Doyle will be looking to score at the Reebok once again, after scoring for Reading in 2007, but will face competition from Andy Keogh who will be on the bench after recovering from ankle surgery.

On-loan Michael Mancienne should also be on the bench after being ineligible for the game with Chelsea.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone