Tottenham Hotspur v Bolton - Preview

  • February 24, 2010 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

A place in the quarter-finals of the FA Cup awaits the winner of Wednesday's fifth round replay between Bolton and Tottenham Hotspur.

Wanderers travel to White Hart Lane after the initial tie at the Reebok Stadium ended in a 1-1 draw. Jermain Defoe cancelled out a Kevin Davies strike in that game, meaning the two must go at it once more.

Owen Coyle has admitted that his priorities lie with Premier League survival and, with a weekend game against Wolves on the horizon, looks set to name a weakened side in North London.

Stuart Holden and Jlloyd Samuel will both start, while Andy O'Brien, Mustapha Riga and Ali Al Habsi all look set to feature.

Gretar Steinsson is doubtful with a knee injury and Mark Davies is also out after picking up an ankle injury in the defeat at Blackburn Rovers.

Gary Cahill, Chris Basham, Sean Davis and Joey O'Brien all remain out with their respective injuries. Jack Wilshere and Vladimir Weiss are cup-tied.

Spurs go into the game without the services of captain Ledley King. The defender picked up a thigh injury in their last game and won't be risked.

Harry Redknapp is sweating on the fitness of some of his star players after a virus hit the training ground this week, but it isn't expected to cause too many disruptions.

Aaron Lennon is not quite ready for a return after suffering a setback on a groin injury, meaning David Bentley should continue on the right flank.

Defoe and Peter Crouch should start in attack, but Roman Pavlyuchenko will be hoping to start after his brace against Wigan Athletic. Younes Kaboul and Kyle Walker are both cup-tied.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
20 Tranmere Rovers 2 0
21 Peterborough United 2 0
22 Southend United 2 0
23 Bolton Wanderers 2 -11
24 Bury 0 -12
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone