Arsenal 4-2 Bolton Wanderers

  • January 20, 2010 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Arsenal moved to the top of the Premier League after fighting back from two goals down to beat Bolton 4-2 at the Emirates Stadium.

Gary Cahill had given Wanderers an early lead before Matt Taylor scored from the spot after Lee Chung-Yong was fouled inside the area all within the first half hour.

Tomas Rosicky pulled one back just before the break before second half goals from Cesc Fabregas, Thomas Vermaelan and Andrey Arshavin completed the comeback for the Gunners.

Abou Diaby saw an early strike saved by Jussi Jaaskelainen before Wanderers took a shock lead.

Gael Clichy failed to clear a free-kick and Kevin Davies nodded the ball into the path of Cahill who volleyed past Manuel Almunia, much to the delight of the 300 travelling Bolton fans.

Despite falling behind, it was the hosts who looked more likely to score the next goal as Fabregas, Eduardo and Arshavin had efforts.

At the other end, Taylor came close to doubling Bolton's lead by forcing Almunia into a superb low stop from a free-kick. Though, he wasn't to be denied from his next attempt.

After Denilson had fouled Chung-Yong inside the area, Taylor stepped up to convert the resulting penalty and give Wanderers a shock 2-0 lead inside 27 minutes.

Arsenal then pressed forward and almost pulled one back immediately when Kevin Davies' header came back off his own crossbar before Jaaskelainen claimed.

But, just two minutes before the break, Wenger's side did have the ball in the net. After Fabregas won the ball in midfield, he played in Rosicky who cut inside and beat Jaaskelainen at his near post.

Wanderers took their lead into the break, but it didn't last long as Arsenal found their equaliser on 52 minutes.

After a 50/50 challenge between Mark Davies and William Gallas left the Wanderers midfielder in agony on the floor, the ball broke to Arshavin who, inturn, found Fabregas who fired through Jaaskelainen's legs and into the far corner.

Mark Davies received lengthly treatment on the field before being stretchered off the field, with replays showing the poor tackle from Gallas could have resulted in a serious ankle injury for the starlet.

Bolton never seemed to recover from that blow and Arsenal were soon in the ascendency, with Fabregas forcing a fine save out of Jaaskelainen.

But on 65 minutes, the hosts were infront. After Diaby had knocked the ball down from a corner, Vermaelen reacted quickest to strike the ball home and give Arsenal the lead for the first time in the game.

Kevin Davies flashed a shot across the face of goal soon after, but it came to nothing as Arsenal soon added to their lead to end any hopes the visitors had of claiming a point.

Eduardo played a neat ball through to Arshavin who, after getting full control of the ball, guided the ball into the net and put Arsenal top of the Premier League table.

The Russian failed to add a fifth when Jaaskelainen denied him in stoppage time, but the Gunners ran out deserved winners from the game, leaving Bolton in the relegation zone.

Wanderers take a break from league competition at the weekend when they host Sheffield United in the FA Cup, before Burnley visit the Reebok Stadium on Tuesday in what has fast turned into a must win game.

Arsenal: Almunia, Sagna, Gallas, Vermaelan, Clichy, Fabregas, Denilson, Diaby (Eastmond 76), Rosicky (Vela 88), Arshavin, Eduardo (Walcott 90)
Subs Not Used: Fabianski, Silvestre, Traore, Emmanuel-Thomas
Booked: Clichy
Goals: Rosicky 43, Fabregas 52, Vermaelen 65, Arshavin 85

Bolton Wanderers: Jaaskelainen, Steinsson, Cahill, Knight, Robinson (Ricketts 90), Chung-Yong (Klasnic 81), M Davies (McCann 56), Muamba, Cohen, Taylor, K Davies
Subs Not Used: Al Habsi, Samuel, Elmander, A O'Brien
Booked: Muamba, McCann
Goals: Cahill 7, Taylor 28(pen)

Attendance: 59,084
Referee: Alan Wiley

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
6 Cambridge United 3 6
7 Derby County 3 6
8 Bolton Wanderers 3 5
9 Portsmouth 3 5
10 Accrington Stanley 3 5
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston