Hibernian 3-0 Bolton Wanderers

  • July 25, 2007 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/25c1b

Hibernian have beaten an inexperienced Bolton Wanderers side at Easter Road this evening.

Goals from Steven Fletcher, David Murphy and Abdessalam Benjelloun sunk the Trotters in their first encounter on British soil since May.

Hibs had the first real chance of the game inside the opening two minutes, as Fletcher found himself clean through, only to be thwarted by Ian Walker in the Bolton goal.

The Scots almost had the lead just two minutes later, when Kerr picked the ball up in the middle of the park, before unleashing a superb long-range strike which flew just wide of Walker's post.

Bolton hit straight back and when El-Hadji Diouf crossed from the right, debutant Heidar Helguson found himself inches away from opening his account for his new club.

The Icelandic thought he'd opened his account just five minutes later, when he went on a mazy run down the left channel, cut inside and unleashed a 30-yard powerdriver, and with the goalkeeper beaten, his shot rebounded off the post.

The visitor's should have taken the lead on 13 minutes, when Ma-Kalambay fumbled a Diouf free-kick right at the feet of veteran Gary Speed, but he somehow hit his shot right at the advancing goalkeeper, with the goal gaping.

Fletcher once again found himself clean through on the Bolton goal, but his 21st minute shot was over the bar.

Helguson had another chance to open his account for the Trotters on 25 minutes, when good link-up play from Diouf and loanee Danny Guthrie played in the Icelander, only for Ma-Kalambay to superbly deny him.

The hosts managed to take the lead just before the half-hour, Fletcher beat the Bolton offside trap and rolled the ball past Walker to open the scoring.

But for the interception of Walker, Bolton would have been two goals down before the break, first denying Fletcher and then Benelloun.

Bolton were inches away from equalising on the stroke of half-time, Guthrie went on a driving run down the middle before picking out Ricardo Vaz Te, the youngster cut inside from the right, but his shot rattled the crossbar with the goalkeeper beaten.

Both sides made a number of changes at the break, and the game became a more even affair.

Slovakian Zoltan Harsanyi had two good chances to bring Bolton level on the hour, first having a shot well saved by the goalkeeper, and moments later cutting inside from the flank and hitting his shot across the goalkeeper, but somehow going wide of the goalpost.

Hibernian took control of the game on 72 minutes. David Murphy beat off competition from Lubomir Michalik before sliding his shot under the body of the advancing Walker to double the host's lead.

Then, just three minutes later, Hibs found themselves three goals to the good, Benjelloun picked the ball up 30-yards from goal and hitting an unstoppable shot beyond the dive of Walker.

By this time, the majority of Bolton's players were youngsters, but no credit will be taken away from Hibernian who face a challenge from Middlesbrough at Easter Road next.

Meanwhile, Bolton will look to improve on tonight's showing as they travel to Prenton Park to face bitter rivals Tranmere Rovers on Saturday afternoon.

Hibernian: Ma-Kalambay, McCann, Murphy, Hogg, Jones, Beuzelin (Gatheussi 67), Kerr, Stevenson (Lynch 79), Fletcher (Donaldson 46), Benjelloun, Zemmama (Chisholm 67)
Subs Not Used: McNeil, Joneliet, Campbell, McCormack, McCaffrey
Goals: Fletcher 28, Murphy 72, Benjelloun 75

Bolton Wanderers: Walker, Sinclair, Faye, Michalik, Jamieson, Diouf (Sissons 57), Guthrie (Obadeyi 57), Speed (Cassidy 77), Giannakopoulos (Woolfe 46), Helguson (Harsanyi 46), Vaz Te
Subs Not Used: Kazimierczak, O'Brien

Referee: D McDonald

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet Championship Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
20 Wigan Athletic 32 34
21 Reading 33 29
22 Rotherham United 33 29
23 Bolton Wanderers 33 26
24 Ipswich Town 33 20
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2017/18 Player of the Year?
53.85% Ben Alnwick
13.11% Sammy Ameobi
10.49% Karl Henry
8.39% Antonee Robinson
4.98% David Wheater
3.41% Mark Beevers
2.1% Mark Little
1.84% Josh Vela
1.57% Darren Pratley
0.26% Reece Burke